A blog about us…and journey with Melanoma

Dear 16-year-old me

Earlier this year, we got an email from the David Cornfield Melanoma Fund asking if we knew young people with melanoma for a video they were making (Mike was considered too old at 43.. haha!).  David Cornfield was just 32 when he died of melanoma – his wife is featured in the video and has carried on his legacy.  Yesterday the producers contacted us with their completed video “Dear 16-year-old me”..but I had already seen it because it has become so popular on YouTube so quickly.  I am sharing it with everyone I know because it is so moving and they absolutely nail it….what I have been trying to communicate to people – that young people are not immune to cancer – especially melanoma – and that if you catch it early you could save your life.  I hope you will watch it and share it with your friends and family.

8 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this video. My prayer is that it will save that one teenage, that one person. I am a survivor. click here You can read my story and my continuing journey. Thank you for what your doing here.
    Betty

    May 6, 2011 at 1:26 am

  2. Hi Betty! Thank you for visiting my blog – I am now following yours. I send you all the best as you fight the beast! Please keep in touch.
    Emily

    May 6, 2011 at 1:43 am

  3. Thank you Emily. We both will keep fighting together! God bless you!
    Betty

    May 6, 2011 at 2:37 am

  4. Very good video. Glad to see melanoma is getting more attention. Thanks for sharing it.

    Andy

    May 23, 2011 at 6:08 am

    • Andy – I am so glad to hear from you. I know you are having a rough time and I am thinking of you. I saw your blog and your beautiful family. I will email you because I am curious as to what drugs you are on currently. All my best, Emily

      May 26, 2011 at 3:17 am

  5. Hello Emily,
    Just wanted to let you know I changed my URL and my blog is http://justthoughtsonablog.blogspot.com Please come back to the blog and re-follow me. I hope you are doing well! Lets keep fighting this together!

    November 8, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    • Thanks Betty – I will re-follow!

      November 8, 2011 at 9:57 pm

      • Thank you Emily. You can connect to my other blogs from my main one. HAVE A BLESSED EVENING!

        November 8, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Leave a Reply

