A blog about us…and journey with Melanoma

6 Month Increments of Normalcy (kind of)

So another 6 months have passed and that means it’s PET scan time for Mike.  We are 18 mos out from a Stage IIIa melanoma diagnosis.  It seems our life is now broken into 6 month increments.  Waiting for the scan results is scary.  We know of multiple people who have gotten bad news from scans even though they felt completely normal.  That is how melanoma rolls.  But the the good news is that when Mike hits 2 years, he will only have PET scans once a year.

I have to say that we have enjoyed the past 6 months of normal life.  Life certainly isn’t the same as it was before a cancer diagnosis, but now we realize that it will never be.  And that is just fine with us.  So as we wait for scan results over the weekend, we will appreciate the past 6 months of health and normalcy.  The fact that we can pay our bills, go to work, school,  dinner, etc. is something we try to appreciate (well, most of the time).  There are so many others suffering from illness and they just can’t do the mundane tasks we all take for granted.  So please take a moment to appreciate your life, your health, your everyday mundane stuff because you are truly blessed to have these things.

Em

7 responses

  1. I follow your blog and I am hoping all the best for Mike. Enjoy your Valentine’s weekend!

    February 11, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    • Thanks Elizabeth – I hope your son is doing well!

      February 24, 2011 at 5:44 pm

  2. gilbert gaytan

    You are so right. I would like to add a thought to yours: While you and Mike have faced the unknown, have learned to care for yourselves and for one another with a new passion,love and intelligence, you have also made us ALL do the same thing.
    That is no small wonder. Thanks.
    All Love, dad

    February 11, 2011 at 10:54 pm

  3. Kerri Pierce

    I know EXACTLY how y’all are feeling! I just did my 6 month scans this week and I feel like I am able to enjoy another 6, but that could end in 6 months! I just want you to know that the further you get out from the diagnosis the easier it gets. It will be 4 years for me in June and the scanxiety has lessened and I am able to not worry as much. My doctor has me on a 6 month schedule for 5 years and then once a year after that. I would tell you to enjoy life, but it sounds like you guys have that down! Take care!

    February 11, 2011 at 11:02 pm

    • Kerri -thanks as always for your support and words. You know how it feels! I am so happy about your scans. Stay in touch! Em

      February 24, 2011 at 5:43 pm

  4. Randi

    Amen!

    February 12, 2011 at 12:43 am

    • Randi – let me know how you are doing..

      February 24, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Leave a Reply

