A blog about us…and journey with Melanoma

Fun in the Sun

Yes, we can still have fun in the sun!  Last year at this time, I thought our days were over at the beach.  But I have realized its quite nice to sit under an umbrella in the sand.  The only problem is protecting your face and head in the water.  You can’t really wear a hat body surfing.  And the waterproof sunscreen doesn’t last.   I have to admit, Mike got a bit burnt on his nose. And I got burnt a little where the sunscreen didn’t cover.  I feel guilty.  Mike says I am not a good melanoma wife.  Oh well, what’s done is done.

Anyway, this was our first vacation since Melanoma came to visit and we were celebrating clear scans, and our birthdays.  We were supposed to go to Disneyland.  But we did one day of Lego Land and had enough of standing in line.  Instead, we hit the beach.  We stayed with our good friends at their beach house in San Clemente two blocks from the ocean.  What a great beach town!  Miles of beach, a pier and restaurants and a cute shopping downtown all in my favorite Spanish style architecture.  We ran in the morning, hit the beach, had cocktails, ate out, slept in, and repeated that for a week.

Aidan on San Clemente Pier, Aug 2010

We loved it!

Mike on the beach

Mike digging on the beach

Lego Land Caitlin Mike

Lego Land - Caitlin and Mike

4 responses

  1. Shirley Z

    Emily,
    What a great vacation. Sounds absolutely perfect! Your kids are so adorable, and Mike looks great.
    I know its hard not to worry. My first year was the toughest. I still have my days.
    Mike is lucky to have such a great family. It really does help you through the tougher days.
    I think of your family all the time. Have you heard how fitmom is doing?
    I’ll pray that Mike continues to do well. I know you are a good “watchdog” over him. My husband is the same with me.

    Shirley

    August 13, 2010 at 1:45 am

    • Hi Shirley! Thanks so much for your compliments. You are just so darn sweet! I have heard from Fitmom and she did well during her first week of biochemo in San Fran. She is doing hypnotherapy also and I think this is something I need to do also to manage stress! Anyway, we know what we are facing the next couple of years so we are prepared! Talk to you soon and take care! Emily

      August 13, 2010 at 4:16 pm

  2. Kerri Pierce

    So glad youguys were able to have a great time! I know exactly what you mean about being so scared of the sun – I never wanted to be in it again, but I realized that I just had to be sun safe now. I can still enjoy the beach and the sun, but now with a little more precaution!

    August 13, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    • Hi Kerri – so happy about your scans! Here in SF we don’t really have beaches like those in Southern Cal – the beaches here are cold and dangerous. So it was nice to go to one that was warm with lifeguards! After a year, I am warming up to the sun again (no pun intended! ha ha).

      August 13, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Leave a Reply

