A blog about us…and journey with Melanoma

Phew! What a relief. Now what should I worry about?

Mike got his 6 mos PET scan results last Friday.   He is all clear – NED (no evidence of disease) is what they call it.  So we celebrated and words can’t explain the relief and joy.

My melanoma friends will agree – scan time is very traumatic.   Mike had to practically push me up the stairs of the doctor’s office on Friday. Knowing that this appointment could change our lives so radically is part of what bothered me – I didn’t want to face that again. Would the upcoming months be filled with chemo and illness versus proceeding with life “as usual”?   During the drive over,  I lectured Mike on what we would do if we got bad news….we could fly here for this trial or there for another.   People make fun of me for being so negative in this situation.  I am not being negative – I am trying to feel in control of something that I can’t control.  Being prepared for what happens next – good or bad – makes me feel better. So until July, when Mike has his next scans, we will work on enjoying our  “normal life”,  appreciating things that used to seem mundane, and I will try to stop worrying so much… but I won’t stop trying to be prepared.

Em

5 responses

  1. i am oh so happy that you guys have the all clear and can get back to enjoying life as usual 🙂 i will continue to pray for you guys-so that you can keep this going and never have melanoma return into your lives! love you guys!! keep living!!!

    February 19, 2010 at 2:34 am

  2. Hello dear –
    I know you have been through the scans and had the outcome that we feared so greatly. Oh we so want Marcus to be well.

    We will never be able to truly celebrate or be “normal” again until people are no longer losing their lives to Melanoma.

    XOXO

    February 19, 2010 at 4:53 am

  3. mom

    My thoughts and prayers go out to Mindy & Marcus, as now some of my energy is also freed up from worry. Emily, I am getting lost in so many blogs and facebook pages….sorry it took me so long to reply.

    February 20, 2010 at 1:08 am

  4. Holly

    I’m so thrilled for you guys that the results came back clear. What a relief. I can understand your feels and fears. Melanoma is scary and I hold my breath still when I get checked out each year. Like you said, we need to enjoy each day as a gift from God.
    Love you guys,
    Holly

    February 23, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    • Hello cousin! Thanks for your note – we are thrilled with the latest scans but the fear remains. We do appreciate our health and life much more. Love to you!

      February 24, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Leave a Reply

